Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Local Host Information

Ground Transportation

 To/From airport options:

San Jose taxi service is easily accessible from Terminal A and Terminal C. Cost is approximately $15-$30.

San Jose Airport Shuttles are available from Terminal A and Terminal C. Cost is approximately $16 - $21 per person.

Sal's Airport and Limousine Service call for pricing and to book a reservation 877-524-2775

Try Uber or Lyft

To/From downtown options:

Other than a taxi, Lyft, Uber, or a car service, the Light Rail System is easy and affordable. Light Rail is just across the street from the convention center entrance on the East side of the Hyatt. You can purchase an 8 hour pass for $4.00 to spend time in downtown San Jose, eat a meal, and take in a museum or show. It takes about 30 minutes to ride Light Rail to the heart of downtown San Jose.

VTA, http://www.vta.org; VTA Mobile Apps, http://www.vta.org/getting-around/gtfs-info/dev-apps

 To get to Downtown San José: take Southbound Mountain View-Winchester Light Rail, exit Santa Clara St.

Lyft, https://www.lyft.com/

Uber, https://www.uber.com/ride/ 


Local Host Activities

The local hosts in the Department of Communication at San Jose State University are planning several fun activities for convention goers. All the events take place on Friday, February 16. If you want to participate, sign up when you preregister for the conference. If the minimum numbers are not met, the events will be cancelled and those who registered will be notified.

History Tour of Downtown San Jose

3:00 pm - 5:00 pm Friday, February 16
Join a walking history tour of Downtown San José. The tour will cover about two miles and last approximately two hours. We will visit 10 local landmarks showcasing events from the arrival of Spanish missionaries in 1777, to San José’s infamous turn as California’s first capitol, to the kidnapping of the local department store heir, to the 1968 Olympic protests by SJSU athletes. The tour will begin and end at an open market with numerous food and drink options.
The tour will occur mostly outside. In case of light rain, bring umbrellas and weather appropriate shoes. In case of heavy rain, the tour will be canceled. Participants pay their own transportation, food and drink.

Please sign up when you register for the convention so we can stay in touch and know how many people to expect.

Meet at San Pedro Square Market, near Garage Bar (entrance on W. St. John).  http://www.sanpedrosquaremarket.com/
Transportation: VTA Light Rail (St. James Station 2 blocks away)

Downtown San Jose Pub Crawl (After the History Tour)

5:00 pm - ? Friday, February 16
Join us after the history tour for a pub crawl in downtown San Jose. Meet at O'Flaherty's Irish Pub, in San Pedro Square Market at 5pm.  https://www.oflahertyspub.com/ 
Transportation: VTA Light Rail (St. James Station 2 blocks away). Participants pay their own transportation, food and drink.

Please sign up when you register for the convention so we can stay in touch and know how many people to expect.

San Jose State Local Host Recommendations

ATTRACTIONS

       Children's Discovery Museum, https://www.cdm.org/

       Computer History Museum, http://www.computerhistory.org/

       de Saisset Museum, https://www.scu.edu/desaisset/

       Happy Hollow Park & Zoo, http://www.hhpz.org/

       History Park, http://historysanjose.org/wp/plan-your-visit/history-park/

       Intel Museum, https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/company-overview/intel-museum.html

       Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies, http://www.sjsu.edu/beethoven/

       Japanese American Museum, www.jamsj.org/

       Japanese Friendship Garden, http://bit.ly/2wXKJVs

       Levi’s Stadium Tour, http://www.levisstadium.com/tours/

       49ers Museum, http://www.levisstadium.com/museum/

       Little Italy San Jose, http://www.littleitalysj.com/index.html

       Municipal Rose Garden, https://www.sanjoseca.gov/facilities/facility/details/74

       New Almaden Quicksilver Mining Museum, http://bit.ly/2xzs6Ha

       Olympic Black Power Statue, http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/olympic-black-power-statue

       Opera San Jose, https://www.operasj.org/

       Peralta Adobe and Fallon House, http://historysanjose.org/wp/plan-your-visit/peralta-fallon-historic-site/

       Portuguese Historical Museum, https://www.portuguesemuseum.org/

       Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum, http://www.egyptianmuseum.org/

       Santa Clara University, https://www.scu.edu

       San José Japantown, www.japantownsanjose.org/

       San José Heritage Rose Garden, http://www.heritageroses.us/

       San José Museum of Art, http://sjmusart.org/

       San José State University, http://www.sjsu.edu/

       San José Museum of Quilts & Textiles, https://www.sjquiltmuseum.org/

       South Bay Historical Railroad Society, http://www.sbhrs.org/

       Tech Museum, https://www.thetech.org/

       Triton Museum of Art, http://www.tritonmuseum.org/

       Winchester Mystery House, www.winchestermysteryhouse.com/

 

SHOPPING MALLS

       Great Mall, Milpitas, CA, http://www.simon.com/mall/great-mall

       Santana Row, San Jose, CA, http://www.santanarow.com/

       Westfield Valley Fair, San Jose, CA, https://www.westfield.com/valleyfair

       Stanford Shopping Center, Stanford, CA, http://www.simon.com/mall/stanford-shopping-center

 

EATERIES & DRINKS  (* = LOCAL FAVORITE!)

Within a 2-mile Radius of Santa Clara Convention Center

       Amakai Japanese Cuisine, 4300 Great American Pkwy, http://www.amakaisushi.com/

       Cafe Falafel, 4300 Great American Pkwy, http://cafefalafelsantaclara.com/7296

       David’s Restaurant, 515 Stars and Stripes, http://www.davids-restaurant.com/

       Gobi Mongolian BBQ, 1135 Tasman Dr, http://www.gobibbq.com/

       * Iguanas Burritozilla, 4300 Great American Pkwy, http://www.burritozilla.com

       * In-N-Out Burger, 3001 Mission College Blvd, http://www.in-n-out.com

       Mexicali Grill, 3149 Mission College Blvd, http://www.mexicaligrill.com

       Pho Hoa Noodle & Jazen Tea, 3147 Mission College Blvd, http://www.phohoa.com

       Pizza My Heart, 4300 Great American Pkwy, http://www.pizzamyheart.com

       * Rabbit's Foot Meadery, 1246 Birchwood Dr, http://rabbitsfootmeadery.com/

       SmokeEaters, 3175 Mission College Blvd, http://www.smoke-eaters.com

       Tomatina, 3127 Mission College Blvd, http://www.tomatina.com

 

Downtown San José & Surroundings

       Chacho’s, 87 E. San Fernando St., https://chachosrestaurant.com/

       Dac Phuc Vietnamese Cuisine, 198 W Santa Clara St.

       * Fuji Sushi, 56 W. Santa Clara St., http://fujisushi.org/

       * Good Karma, 37 S 1st, http://goodkarmasj.com/

       Gordon Biersch, 33 E. San Fernando St., http://www.gordonbiersch.com/locations/san-jose?action=view

       Hermitage Brewing Co., 1627 S. 7th St. https://hermitagebrewing.com/

       HoM Korean Kitchen, 76 E Santa Clara St., http://homkoreankitchen.com/

       Hunan Thai Cuisine, 1 E San Fernando St.

       Loft Bar & Bistro, 90 S. 2nd Street, http://loftbarandbistro.com/

       Mezcal Restaurant, 25 W. San Fernando St., http://mezcalrestaurantsj.com/

       Original Gravity Public House, 66 S 1st St.,  http://www.originalgravitypub.com/

       * Park Station Hashery (near Rosicrucian Museum & Municipal Rose Garden) http://www.parkstationhashery.com/

       Picasso’s Tapas & Restaurant, 62 W Santa Clara St., http://www.picassostapas.com/

       Rookie’s Sports Lounge, 99 S. First St., http://rookieslodge.com/

       * San Pedro Square Market (various eateries), 87 N. San Pedro St., http://www.sanpedrosquaremarket.com/

       Santa Clara Valley Brewing, 101 E. Alma Ave., https://www.scvbrewing.com/

 

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal